Reviews

Graphic Novel Mini-Reviews : Nimona + Runaways Vol. 1


NIMONA

by Noelle Stevenson                                 

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.
Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

I know a lot of people loved this graphic novel but I’d have to say I didn’t like this one as much. I did enjoy the characters and I did have fun reading it because there were some damn funny parts, but, overall, I felt like it was a bit under-developed. I loved Nimona and Blackheart, but I just wanted more. I wanted more depth to the world and the characters. I also wish there was more to the storyline. I didn’t feel attached to any of the characters and I didn’t buy the closeness between them (although it was cute).
The story didn’t really grip me in anyway and I found myself putting it down multiple times. I should say I didn’t like the artwork either. It wasn’t bad or anything; it just wasn’t a style I like.
There are some things I enjoyed: I loved Nimona’s ruthlessness, I enjoyed the dialogues (especially the banters between Blackheart and Nimona) and the relationships were adorable. The ending was bittersweet but very fitting. I felt like it wrapped up perfectly.


RUNWAYS DELUXE, Vol. 1 (Runaways Deluxe #1)

by Brian K. Vaughan, Adrian Alphona, Takeshi Miyazawa

In Pride & Joy, six young friends discover their parents are all secretly super-powered villains Finding strength in one another, the shocked teens run away from home and straight into the adventure of their lives – vowing to turn the tables on their evil legacy. In Teenage Wasteland, the Runaways find a kindred spirit in a daring young stranger and welcome him into their fold. But will this dashing young man help the teenagers defeat their villainous parents… or tear them apart? Plus: who do you send to catch a group of missing, runaway teenage super-heroes? Marvel’s original teen runaway crimefighters, Cloak and Dagger, make their first major appearance in years In The Good Die Young, the world as we know it is about to end, and the Runaways are the only hope to prevent it Our fledgling teenage heroes have learned how their parents’ criminal organization began, and now they must decide how it should end. As the Runaways’ epic battle against their evil parents reaches its shocking conclusion, the team’s mole stands revealed, and blood must be shed. Which kids will still be standing when the smoke finally clears?

In this graphic novel six teenagers who’re forced to meet once every year for their wealthy parents’ secret meetings decide to sneak in on their parents one night only to find out that they’re a secret criminal society.

This synopsis had me hooked from the very beginning and the actual novel both surprised me in a good way and also disappointed me a bit. The story follows a bunch of teens who must decide between their love for their own parents and turning in the parents for the greater good. I loved how their dilemma was handled; the kids’ reactions and thought processes felt realistic to the circumstances. I also loved the characters (some more than others) and the relationships within the crew. There is a bit of diversity in this graphic novel and that another huge plus for me as well.

What I didn’t particularly like was the art. It’s not bad artwork at all; it just wasn’t to my taste for some reason. I don’t know. And some of the dialogue had me cringing, especially the ones between romantic couples. That’s another thing; I didn’t like any of the romance storylines (except maybe one that started developing in the very last few pages. I’m all for that couple).

My favorite thing in this graphic novel was the unpredictability. The twists in the last half were SO MIND-BLOWING. I was literally awe-struck. I usually see twists coming immediately but this one caught me off-guard. Wow.

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novel Mini-Reviews : Nimona + Runaways Vol. 1

  1. Nimona is probably the next graphic novel I’m going to read. Do you think the pros outweigh the cons? Is it worth being at the top of my list?

    Like

    1. It think it’s worth a try! I know many people love Nimona and though some things annoyed me, the good probably outweighs the bad. Hope you enjoy it more than I did 😀

      Like

Leave a Comment

