Reviews

Graphic Novel Mini-Reviews : Monstress + Archie

I wasn’t planning on reviewing these because I already have so many books to review, but I decided to do a mash-up of mini-reviews in this one post. I don’t really read many graphic novels and they’re not my favorite things to read, but there are the occasional graphic novels that I find enjoyable. anyway, here are four of the graphic novels I’ve read in 2017:

(Click on covers to add on Goodreads)


MONSTRESS, Vol. 1: Awakening (Collected Editions #1)

by Marjorie M. Liu, Sana Takeda

Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900’s Asia, in a richly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, MONSTRESS tells the story of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and who shares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power, a connection that will transform them both and make them the target of both human and otherworldly powers.

                            
In this graphic novel we follow Maika, a girl who is bound to an ancient demon and becomes a target in a war-torn world.

Monstress was a creepy, truly terrifying delight. I was really surprised at how gory and bloody it was. And though I flinched through many of the scenes, I actually loved the horror aspect of it. And the artwork is GORGEOUS! One hundred percent the most beautiful graphic novel I’ve read so far. Also, it’s set in a steam punk world of an alternate matriarchal Asia. How amazing does that sound?

I loved Maika. She’s fierce and intense (and downright scary sometimes). The side characters- even the villains- were intriguing. The storyline had me confused for the first half because you kinda get thrown in into this complex world without explanation, which can be a bit jarring. But as I went along, I got more and more of the whole picture. I recommend this to anyone who loves complex fantasy worlds, beautiful art and bad-ass women.


ARCHIE #1 (Archie (2015-) (Single Issues) #1)

     by Mark Waid, Fiona Staples

Change is coming to Riverdale in this can’t-miss kick-off to Archie’s new ongoing series! Familiar faces return in new and unexpected ways in this must-read #1 issue! As the new school year approaches, you’d think Archie Andrews would be looking forward to classes and fun — but nothing is as it seems in the little town of Riverdale. But is this a one-off or a sign of bigger changes awaiting for America’s favorite teens — and the entire town? Find out in this exciting and remarkable first issue!

                                                                              

This book was so hard to rate. The artwork is gorgeous, the characters are fun and lovable, and the story is kinda interesting. But it just wasn’t for me. It’s set in a high school, with dating drama and rich kids. It’s just not something I’m into. I don’t even know why I picked it up.

 I didn’t care a single bit for any of the characters (Ok, maybe I like Archie & Betty) and I was bored through the most part. I put this one down too many times because I wasn’t invested in any aspect of the story. I was also a bit put off by the way the story unfolds. I don’t know how to describe it. It’s a bit all over the place.

Leave a Comment

