Reviews

Kick-ass lady pirates and A fast-paced adventure / Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

Beryl(1)

Blurb

DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)

Author: Tricia Levenseller

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Format: Hardcover, 320 pages

Published: February 28th 2017

Buy At:  Amazon logo   Barnes & Noble    bookdepository logo

(Click Picture or underlined title to add on Goodreads)

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

Decor 1

adri's review

Daughter of the pirate king is a fun, fast-paced read that I really enjoyed. The main character, Alosa, is snarky and witty and I just loved her from the very beginning. I enjoyed the pirate element in this story all in all, especially because the characters were a tiny bit violent (including Alosa). She was kind of a badass and bit merciless. Another thing I loved about this book was the crew of kick-ass pirate ladies (although we don’t get to see them much).

But I should say that it felt more like a romance novel than a pirate one; the romance plays a huge part of the story and it was of a lighter tone, which tends to take away from the grit and ruthlessness that you might want from a book about pirates. That aspect disappointed me. I did like the love interest and I liked the banter and chemistry between those two, but there was no substance to it; I don’t know what they saw in each other past physical attractiveness. Also, the situations and the development that based the romance felt a bit far-fetched considering the circumstances both characters were in. The romance just felt a bit unnecessary and that caused me to be more annoyed than on board with the ship.

It was a fun, light read but I just wanted more- more violence, more grit and more character development. There was so much potential for it to be a “great” read but it ended up just being a good one. I did enjoy myself and I do very much love pirate books so I couldn’t rate it lower than I did despite me having some problems with it.

 


about author

Tricia Levenseller

Tricia Levenseller writes historical fantasies for young adult readers. Her debut, DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING, is set to release Feb. 2017 from Feiwel and Friends, an imprint of Macmillan Publishers.

Initially from a small town in Oregon, Tricia now lives next to the Rocky Mountains with her bossy dog, Rosy. She received her degree in English Language and editing and is thrilled that she never has to read a textbook again. When she’s not writing or reading, Tricia enjoys putting together jigsaw puzzles, playing volleyball, and watching shows while eating extra-buttered popcorn.

Follow Author:  Twitter logo  goodreads logo 2

 

One thought on “Kick-ass lady pirates and A fast-paced adventure / Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

  1. I loved this book so much! I’ve been trying to write a coherent review ever since i read it! I’m glad you sort of enjoyed it too, even if the romance over-powered the pirate-ness!

    Like

Leave a Comment

