Memes, Tags & Lists

January & February Wrap-up

12

I know most people don’t like to keep track of how much they read but I personally like to set a reading goal. It motivates me to read and just gets me so excited! My reading goal for 2017 is to read at least 10 books every month so I can read a total of 120 books by the end of the year. 

  • JanuaryI read 10 books in January, which is my monthly goal. I barely reached 10 books; I finished reading the last book (A list of cages) just before midnight (Yes, I know I could’ve just read it the next day, but I can be stubborn). Most of the books I read during this month were great and it was a great start for the year. I’m so proud of myself for reading ten books since I’ve never read more than 6 in one month! 
  • February: Unfortunately, I wasn’t so lucky in February. I did have time to read if I’m being honest but I wasn’t really feeling it. My blog content was sorely lacking as well and it was overall a messy month for me. I read 5 books, so now I’m slightly behind. 

So far I’ve read 15 books so 105 more to go!

 

These are the books I’ve read in January and February. Below each books is my rating. Click the covers to check out my reviews for each book. Some don’t have reviews yet!

royal-bastards     caraval      the-bear-the-nightingale      7     a-list-of-cages

4 star      3 star      3 star       3 star      5 star

history-is-all-you-left-me      norse-mythology      obelisk-gate     the-sun-is-also-a-star     anansi-boys

5 star      4 star       5 star       4 half star     5 star

tiger-lily      it-ends-with-us      scythe      10     8

4 star      4 star       4 half star       3 half star      5 star

 

14

1. New Bookish Features :

  • Newbie Sundays: This will be a new weekly feature posted on Sundays in which I’ll discuss recently-announced book releases and other upcoming books that should be more hyped. So if you want to be constantly updated with new book releases, be on lookout for it.
  • Friday Finds: This is a weekly event hosted by Should be Reading. Starting March 2017, I’ll be talking about books that I’ve recently added to my TBR, usually lesser-known ones. The books might be upcoming or already released.

2. Writing Posts :

I’ve recently decided that I’ll be posting more about writing. These posts will include resources for writing, like online sites that I’ve found useful, reference books that I’ve found and even more personal stuff – as in my writing updates, possibly including snippets and random thoughts.

 

13

  • So far I’ve written 10,000 words of my WIP.
  • I’ve mostly been doing research for my setting and watching writing videos for inspiration. 
  • I’ve decided to re-outline during the whole spring break so hopefully, I’ll start writing again in April or earlier.
  • I’ll be having constant updates on this blog starting April or maybe earlier. I might also start sharing snippets. I think that’ll give me the extra motivation to finish a book for once.

What are some of your reading and writing goals for 2017? How are they going so far? Let me know in the comments below if you’ve read any of these books or if you have them on your TBR!! 😀

6 thoughts on “January & February Wrap-up

  1. I keep wanting to read History is All You Left Me but I feel like it’s going to make me so sad, I just don’t really want to be sad. And so glad to see that you enjoyed Scythe – I loved that book. ❤

    I think I have a goal to read 50 books in 2017 and I'm faiiiirly sure I'll get there eventually, provided I don't get into any extensive slump. Good luck with reading and writing, and can't wait for your writing posts!

    Like

    1. You should read it! Sure it’s sad but the way it wraps up…just perfect (at least for me). It isn’t as sad as More happy than not so that’s something. I loved Scythe! God, it was so hard to rate because I kept fluctuating between 4 and 5 stars. I gave it a four but now every time I look at that rating I feel like I made a mistake. I even considered cheating and putting in 5 stars when making this collage 😂. It was just so original and intriguing, plus the writing was amazing ❤ The horrid reading slump happens at least once each year for all of us, but I'm sure you can do it!! Thank you so much ❤ I'm kinda nervous about the writing posts, but mostly excited 😊

      Like

      1. I totally understand re: Scythe! I actually had it in my mind to rate it a 3.5 star but it didn’t feel quite right, so I ended up with 4 stars. It’s like the book that keeps on giving, or something, haha. I think I just found it superbly effortless and enjoyable to read, which is wonderful. 😉

        Like

  2. I read the same amount of book as you in both January and February, I’m aiming for one hundred books this year because last year I only reached sixty. I really like that collage of all the books you read with your ratings, how did you make it? Congrats with your writing, school has made me too busy to do much writing but I am in the middle of reoutlining and doing some more world building with the aim of participating in Camp Nanowrimo in April.

    Like

    1. Really? That’s kinda crazy 😂 I read so little last year and I’m making up for it with a goal of 120 books. Thank you! I just inserted a bunch of thumbnail pics at ones and adjusted the spaces between them and then added the ratings and positioned them below (let me know if u want more details about that). I completely forgot about Camp Nanowrimo! It’s the perfect timing for me since I’m also re-outlining to write in April (maybe we can be Nanowrimo buddies!) Thank you for reminding me ❤ And good luck with your goal 😀

      Like

Leave a Comment

