Memes, Tags & Lists

Diverse-A-Thon 2017 Wrap-up

This year’s Diverse-A-Thon was success for me. My initial goal was to read three books during the week, but I read four instead. If you want to see my TBR post, here. The only regret I have is not participating in the chats as much as I wanted to. Still, it was a fun week and I loved seeing so many participate, celebrating diversity. Even though it had ended tomorrow, I’ll still continue reading Diverse books and prioritizing them to others.

I’ve already posted a review for The sun is also a star, and the full reviews for the rest will be up this week. For now, I’ll try to sum up my feelings for each book as best as I can.

1.HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME by Adam Silvera

history-is-all-you-left-me

This was my favorite out of the four I read this week. It’s a story about love, grief and friendship between four boys whose lives take a messy turn when one of them dies. The story alternates between the past and the present, highlighting all the swoon-worthy and happy moments Griffin shared with his recently deceased ex-boyfriend, Theo, and the heart-breaking struggles he faces currently while trying to deal with his grief and trying to make peace with Theo’s current boyfriend, Jackson and his friend Wade. I got attached to all four boys immediately. Their story and their connections felt so real that I couldn’t help but tear up during their hard times and cracking a smile during the light ones. 

2. THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR by Nicola Yoon

the-sun-is-also-a-star

This one really surprised me. It took my most hated trope, insta-love, and turned it into something charming and realistic. I fell in love with Natasha and Daniel within the very first few pages. I fell in love with their relationship even more. The premise dangles on the edge of cheesy, but Nicola Yoon executed everything so well that it only turned out remarkable. The way it emphasizes the interconnection between people’s lives and the effect our own actions have on other’s lives is masterful. And the tid bits about race and immigration…*claps appreciatively*

3. THE ABYSS SURROUNDS US by Emily Skrutskie

10

I quite enjoyed this book. My favorite thing about the story was the pirate/sea-monster aspect. The whole sea-monster training thing was intriguing. Cas and Swift are both bad-ass and I ship them so hard! Their friendship and their bickering GAVE ME LIFE. I really did not expect for this book to be gritty. It’s not really gruesome or anything, but it had cursing and fighting and monsters breaking humans into half, which is a plus for me (but still unexpected). Some of the choices the characters make and the way some situations were resolved felt a bit unrealistic, and the premise was awesome but the world-building could’ve used some work. 

4. A TASTE OF HONEY by Kai Ashante Wilson

7The writing style in this was very bold and unique; the language the characters use and the dialects were masterfully done. I also enjoyed the unusual way the story unfolds, how the narration jumps between different instances in Aqib’s life. Also, the twist at the end was kinda mind blowing. However, I was disappointed with this book. I went into it expecting lush world-building and an atmospheric setting, but there was none of that; we don’t get much insight into the world. The fantasy / Sci-Fi??? elements were confusing and just felt off. 

ceramics

Have you guys read any of these books? Let me know your thoughts below. Also, if you participated in the Diverse-A-Thon, how did your week go? What was your favorite read during the week? 

One thought on “Diverse-A-Thon 2017 Wrap-up

  1. You did a great job with diverse-a-thon! I can’t wait to read History is All you Left Me and The Sun is Also a Star. I have heard great things about both. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to pick up The Sun is Also a Star becaue the insta-love, but I keep hearing it isn’t that bad and that it actually feels realistic, so I want to give it a chance.

    Like

Leave a Comment

