Current Giveaways · Reviews

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon – Review + Giveaway!!

Beryl(1)

Blurb

the-sun-is-also-a-star

THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR  

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publisher: Delacorte Press

 Format: Hardcover, 348 pages

Published: November 1st 2016

Buy At:  Amazon logo   Barnes & Noble    bookdepository logo

(Click Picture or underlined title to add on Goodreads)

 Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? 

Decor 1

adri's review

pink5

             I did not expect to love this book as much as I do. My most hated trope is insta-love and the main characters in this book meet and fall in love in a single day…Yeah, I had low expectations (despite all the hype). But once I started reading, I was hooked. The writing is amazing. I don’t know how to describe it other than to say it was a perfect fit for the story. The story is told from the points of view of Natasha and Daniel but we also get snippets from the lives of random people around them. Usually too many POVs make a story feel disjointed, but it worked so freakin’ well here.

My most favorite part of this book are the main characters. Natasha is a realist; she believes in science and hard facts, not fate, destiny, or love. She is strong-willed and independent. Natasha came to America following her dad’s pursuit of “the american dream”. But after a misstep from her dad, her family’s status as undocumented immigrants is discovered and they are soon to be deported back to Jamaica- where she hasn’t been to since a very young age. During the day the story takes place, she is scrambling around NYC desperately trying to find a solution so she can salvage the life she’s always known.

Daniel, on the other hand, is a poet. An earnest, almost naive, helpless romantic. He believes in all the things Natasha deems ridiculous. Unlike Natasha, he was born in America. But as a son of Korean immigrant parents who used to live in poverty, he faces a lot of pressure to attend the best college and become a doctor. The day he meets Natasha, Daniel is getting ready to go to his Yale interview and seal his fate in a career he has no passion for.

The sun is also a star covers such important topics like immigration and identity; racism and pre-judice; family, dreams and passion. The way Natasha and Daniel’s ideals clash, the way they reconcile and accept their differing views, was just perfect. Another favorite aspect of this book was the snippet chapters we get into the lives of a range of people they encounter, like the security guard, the lawyer, the receptionist. They all play big roles in Natasha and Daniel’s lives. It makes you think of just how much everyone’s lives are interconnected.

Yes there is insta-love and too-convenient situations, but the romance is actually very believable. I found myself rooting for them since the very second they met. They have amazing chemistry and the dialogues are just ❤ They are so adorable! It had me smiling, gushing and tearing up. The book has an overall sweet and light feel, but don’t be fooled; it covers some heavy topics. The way it wrapped up was bittersweet but so very satisfying. I recommend it to everyone!! GO READ IT!


ceramics 20170127_070132

I have a hard cover copy of this book to giveaway! It’s for US only and will be running from January 27 to 11:59 PM EST February 10. To enter, please go to the Rafflecopter link : a Rafflecopter giveaway

 


about author

nicola-yoon

Nicola Yoon

Nicola Yoon grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel.
Follow Author:Twitter logo goodreads logo 2

Find Authorhttp://www.NicolaYoon.com

8 thoughts on “The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon – Review + Giveaway!!

    1. Same! I don’t wanna read contemporary books but I just couldn’t pass this one up. I heard such good things but I kept putting it off until I finally read it. It’s definitely worth taking a chance!

      Like

  1. Another 5 star review!! yes, I loved this book. I also thought the romance was quite believable, especially how it ended at the end of the 24-hour story. 😥 It was realistic. But that ending!!! Aww, my heart was complete. ❤

    Like

    1. Considering the fact that it was insta-love, the romance worked quite well. Daniel & Natasha are unbearably cute 😀 The ending…I did not expect it to turn out that way at all and I think it made it all the more satisfying.

      Like

Leave a Comment

